A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

The Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards (otherwise known as the Academy Awards of the fashion world) took place June 5 at Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City.

The event was witnessed by the very best designers and Hollywood top celebrities, including Heidi Klum, Diane Kruger, Olivia Palermo, Mandy Moore, Olivia Munn and more, attended the glittering event.

The 2017 edition, in partnership with Swarovski for the sixteenth year, was hosted by funnyman Seth Meyers, who previously hosted the award ceremony in 2012.


According to Council of Fashion Designers of America’s site, the awards, which began in 1981, are the “highest honor in fashion and recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear, and accessories as well as journalism, creative vision, personal style, and lifetime achievement.”

See the full list of winners below:


Menswear Designer of the Year:

WINNER: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Robert Geller

Thom Browne

Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder


Accessory Designer of the Year:

WINNER: Stuart Vevers for Coach

Irene Neuwirth

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Paul Andrew

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row


Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent:

Laura Vassar and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection

Gabriela Hearst

WINNER: Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse

Virgil Abloh for Off-White

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan


Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Joseph Altuzarra

WINNER: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Marc Jacobs

Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Inaugural Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

The Founder’s Award: Pat McGrath

Board of Directors’ Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani, Italian Vogue editor-chief, posthumous.

Written by Oluwatoyin Adeleye

Share This Post!