A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

By Chineze Ogugua

Chief Coach of the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr has released the list of players to prosecute the high profile World Cup qualifier against the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon.

There was a first call-up for Hapoel Be’er Sheva’s Anthony Nwakaeme and Hull City’s Ola Aina. Nwakaeme was imminent after his exploits for the Camels in both the Israeli League and the UEFA Champions League.

Meanwhile, there were recalls for captain John Obi Mikel who has returned from injury and Oghion Ighalo, both who play in China.

The Super Eagles host the first leg on September 1 at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, with the return leg holding three days later in Yaounde.

Seven players have been placed on standby – and any of them would be contacted in case there is any issue with any of the invited squad.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Ola Aina (Hull City, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel).

Share This Post!