A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Super Eagles winger Samuel Chukwueze and former Flying Eagles midfielder, Tom Dele-Bashiru have made it into the 40-man list of nominees for the 2019 Golden Boy Award.

Chukwueze, Dele-Bashiru

Golden Boy Award was initiated and given by popular Italian newspaper Tuttosport, every year, for the most outstanding player in Europe under 21 years of age. Nominees must be players of clubs in top tier European leagues, and voting is done by journalists.

Chukwueze enjoyed a breakthrough campaign with Villarreal last term becoming a regular member of the team after he initially started with the second side. He scored five goals in 26 LaLiga games for the Yellow Submarines. He also was a standout performer for the Super Eagles at the AFCON 2019 in Egypt.

Dele-Bashiru joined Watford this summer after running out his contract at Premier League champions, Manchester City. He featured for Nigeria at the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Poland where he scored one goal in three games.

Netherlands defender Matthijs de Ligt won the Golden Boy Award last year.

Full List of 2019 Golden Boy Award Nominees

Benoit Badiashile (AS Monaco)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal)

Michael Cuisance (Bayern Munich)

Tom Dele-Bashiru (Watford)

Matthijs De Ligt (Juventus)

Krépin Diatta (Club Brugge)

Giuanluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan)

Denis Dragus (Standard Liege)

Eljif Elmas (Napoli)

Florentino Luís (Benfica)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Mattéo Guendouzi (Arsenal)

Erling Braut Haaland (RB Salzburg)

Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen)

Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad)

Joao Félix (Atlético Madrid)

Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Boubacar Kamara (Marseille)

Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)

Moise Kean (Everton)

Justin Kluivert (Roma)

Ibrahima Konaté (RB Leipzig)

Rodrygo Goes (Real Madrid)

Alban Lafont (Nantes)

Diego Lainez (Real Betis)

KangIn Lee (Valencia)

Andriy Lunin (Real Valladolid, on loan)

Donyell Malen (PSV)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Nehuén Pérez (Famalicao)

Reiss Nelson (Arsenal)

Abdulkadir Omur (Trabzonspor)

Strahinja Pavlovic (Partizan Belgrade)

Rafael Leao (AC Milan)

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)

Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)

Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord)

Jean-Clair Todibo (Barcelona)

Ferran Torres (Valencia)

Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma)

By Chineze Ogugua

Read also: Golden Eaglets Maul Guatemala AT Turkey Invitational

Share This Post!