A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

By Chineze Ogugua

The draw for the Russia 2018 World Cup will be held on the 1st of December after Peru and Australia completed the 32 already qualified teams.

World Cup Draw

The draw will determine the group in which each of the 32 qualified national teams will play in at the start of the tournament. The teams will be divided into four pots of eight, with one team selected from each pot to form a group.

All pots will be determined by each national team’s October 2017 FIFA World Ranking, with Pot 1 containing the highest-ranked teams, Pot 2 containing the next highest-ranked teams, and so on.

The hosts will continue to be placed in Pot 1 and treated as a seeded team, therefore, Pot 1 will consist of hosts Russia and the seven highest-ranked teams that qualify for the tournament.

No group may have more than one team from any continental confederation with the exception of UEFA, which may have no more than two in a group.

This is how the countries stand in their respective pots.

POT 1:

Russia (Hosts, 65), Germany (1), Brazil (2), Portugal (3), Argentina (4), Belgium (5), Poland (6), France (7)

POT 2:

Spain (8), Peru (10), Switzerland (11), England (12), Colombia (13), Mexico (16), Uruguay (17), Croatia (18)

POT 3:

Denmark (19), Costa Rica (22), Iceland (23), Sweden (25), Tunisia (28), Egypt (30), Senegal (32), Iran (34)

POT 4:

Serbia (38), Nigeria (41) ,

Australia (43), Japan (44), Morocco (48), Panama (49), South Korea (62), Saudi Arabia (63)


Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!