A password will be e-mailed to you.

Davido & Olamide Top List At 2017 Nigerian Entertainment Awards

Share This Post!

By Oluwatibi Opusunju

The 2017 edition of the Nigerian Entertainment Awards held over the weekend at the Symphony Space Center in New York, with Davido and Olamide topping the list of winners.


The award ceremony, which was the 12th edition, was aimed at rewarding the big achievers in the Nigerian entertainment industry including music, film, TV, Radio and so many other categories.

Davido won two awards which include “Hottest Single of the Year” for the song “IF“ and “Afropop Male Act of the Year” as well as Olamide who took home “Album of The Year” for “The Glory” and “Rap Act of the Year”.

Other artists who won awards were Mayorkun, Patoranking, Seyi Shay, Phyno, Jidenna amongst others.

In the Film/TV category, Ramsey Noauh won the award for the “Best Actor” for his role in “’76” while Funke Akindele won the award for “Best Actress” for her role in “A Trip to Jamaica”.

Check out the full list of winners below and photos in the slides above:


Album of the Year: Glory (Olamide)

Hottest Single of the Year: If (Davido)

AfroPop Male Artist of the Year: Davido

AfroPop Female Artist of the Year: Seyi Shay

Rap Act of the Year: Olamide

Dancehall Artist: Patoranking

Best Collabo of the Year: Iskaba – Wande Coal & DJ Tunez

Best Music Video of the Year (Director): Yolo- Seyi Shay (Dir: Meji Alabi)

Best New Act: Mayorkun

Indigenous Artist of the Year: Phyno

Diaspora Artist of the Year: Jidenna

Inspirational Artist of the Year: Sinach

Most Promising Act to Watch: Deshinor

Music Producer of the Year: Krisbeatz

African Male Artist of the Year (Non-Nigerian): Toofan

African Female Artist of the Year (Non-Nigerian): Becca

AfroSoca: Machel Montano


Best Actor: Ransey Noauh (76)

Best Actress: Funke Akindele (A Trip to Jamaica)

Supporting Actor: AY (A Trip to Jamaica)

Supporting Actress: Kehinde Bankole (The Dinner)

Film Director: Steve Gukas (93 Days)

Best Picture: The Wedding Party

Best Lead Role in TV: Oreka Godis (Our Best Friend’s Wedding)

Best Lead Role in Film (Non-Nigerian / Africa): Korto Davies

Best TV Show: Big Brother Naija


Best Disc Jockey: DJ Prince

Diaspora Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Phemstar (U.S.)

Africa Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Slick Stuat & Roja (UG)

Entertainment Executive of the Year: Tobi Sanni Daniel

OAP of the Year: Big Tak (Urban FM)

TV Presenter: Seyitan (The Sauce)

Best Comedy Act: Woli Arole & Asiri

Photographer: Kelechi Amadi

Photo Credit: FOTOCLAY/@udrmedia

Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!