A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

By Chineze Ogugua

The shortlist for the FIFA Best awards have been announced with Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann being the surprise omission.

fifa awards list

Cristiano Ronaldo, Mo Salah and Luka Modric made the final shortlist for the FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

Ronaldo won a fifth Champions league and was the top scorer of the competition with 15 goals. He also scored a four goals at the World Cup including becoming the oldest player to score a hattrick at the World Cup.

Luka Modric was part of the record breaking Real Madrid leading them to a third consecutive Champions league title. He also led Croatia to the final of the World Cup where they lost to eventual winners France.

Salah finished top of the scorers chart in the EPL scoring a record 32 goals in his debut campaign with Liverpool.

In the Coaches category, Zinedine Zidane, Didier Deschamps and Zlatko Dalic made the final shortlist.

Below are the categories and the shortlist:

Men’s Player Award – Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric, Mo Salah.

Women’s Player Award – Ada Hegeberg, Dzsenifer Maroszan, Marta.

FIFA Fan Award – Sebastian Carrera, Japan and Senegal supporters, Peru Supporters.

Women’s Coach Award – Reynald Pedros, Asako Takakura, Sarina Wiegman.

Men’s Coach Award – Zlatko Dalic, Zinedine Zidane, Didier Deschamps.

Puskas Award – Gareth Bale, Denis Cheryshev, Lazaros Christodoulopoulos, Cristiano Ronaldo, Giorgian De Arrascaeta, Riley McGree, Lionel Messi, Benjamin Pavard, Ricardo Quaresma, Mo Salah

Goalkeeper Award – Thibaut Courtois, Hugo Lloris, Kasper Schmeichel

The winners will be announced on September 24 in London after votes are collected from players, coaches, journalists and supporters.

Read also: Griezmann Wins UEL Player of The Year

Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!