A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Chelsea midfielder, N’Golo Kante has been been voted 2017 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association in England.

This is the Frenchman’s second individual prize of the campaign having also won the PFA Player of the Year award.

He becomes the 18th player in history to win both awards in the same season and also the fourth Chelsea player to do so after Zola in 1997, Lampard in 2005 and Hazard in 2015.

N'golo Kante1

Chelsea teammate, Eden Hazard came second in the voting while Tottenham’s Dele Alli came third.

Kante, who will receive his prize at a Gala event in London on 18th May, said:

“It is a fantastic honour to win this award. With so many great players in this Chelsea squad and in the Premier League, for the Football Writers’ Association of this country to name me as their Footballer of the Year is a very proud moment in my career.”

Meanwhile, the FWA Chairman, Patrick Barclay hailed Kante as the most deserving winner.

His words:

“N’Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football’s most prestigious individual award. In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester’s title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate.

“Considering the competition of Eden Hazard and others from Chelsea in particular, this is a great achievement.”

Kante has played a pivotal role in the team’s success up until this point after moving to Stamford Bridge from Leicester City last summer.

Written by Chineze Ogugua

Share This Post!