A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Kenyan long distance runner Eliud Kipchoge and Colombian long and triple jumper Caterine Ibarguen have been named male and female world athletes of the year IAAF at a ceremony hosted in Monaco today.

Kipchoge & Ibarguen Clinch IAAF Awards

Kipchoge won the London Marathon and also set a world record time of 2 hours, one minute and 39 seconds in the Berlin meet.

Ibarguen on her part claimed triple and long jump honours in the Central American and Caribbean Games, the Continental Cup and the Diamond League finals, ending the year with a world-leading mark of 14.96m in her specialist event and a national record of 6.93m in the long jump.

Sweden’s 19-year-old pole vaulter Armand Duplantis won the men’s rising star award while the women’s award went to American 400m runner Sydney McLaughlin.

By Chineze Ogugua

Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!