A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Argentina and Barcelona captain Lionel Messi has won the Best FIFA Men’s Player Award for 2019 in a grand award ceremony held in Milan, giving him an edge over Portuguese talisman Cristiano Ronaldo.

messi best player award

Messi, Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk were the three finalists for the award and many tipped Van Dijk for the award after he led Liverpool to the UEFA Champions League title but it was the Argentine that got the bigger votes.

With this latest award, Messi has now won the prestigious honour a record six times, one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo who has been crowned on five occasions.

For the women awards, Megan Rapinoe of USA won her first ever Best FIFA Women’s Player of the Year ahead of Alex Morgan and Lucy Bronze.

Liverpool manager, Jurgen Klopp won the Best FIFA Men’s coach for his heroics with Liverpool, while Jill Ellis of USA scooped the women’s version of the award.


Alisson Becker (BRA) – Liverpool

Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus

Sergio Ramos (ESP) – Real Madrid

Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

Marcelo (BRA) – Real Madrid

Luka Modric (CRO) – Real Madrid

Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax/Barcelona

Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea/ Real Madrid

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus

Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain

Lionel Messi (ARG) – Barcelona


Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid

Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais

Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Nilla Fischer (SWE) – VfL Wolfsburg / Linkopings

Kelley O’Hara (USA) – Utah Royals

Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars

Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit

Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

Marta (BRA) – Orlando Pride

Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride

By Chineze Ogugua

Read also: Lionel Messi Makes A Return From Injury For UCL

Share This Post!