A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Manchester City have retained their Premier League title after surviving a scare to come from behind and outclass Brighton and finally ending Liverpool’s dogged challenge.

Manchester City

Photo: Premium Times

Pep Guardiola’s side started the day knowing at the back of their minds that only a victory would ensure they would be the first team to retain the crown since Manchester United 10 years ago – but anything less could let in their relentless pursuers Liverpool, who were hosting Wolves at Anfield.

Glenn Murray gave the Seagulls the lead with a glancing header from a corner after 27 minutes, anxiety rose in Sussex and hopes rose at Anfield that Liverpool might win their first title in 29 years.

Manchester City’s gave an instant response emphatic and ruthless as they swept Brighton aside to end the campaign with a record 14 successive league victories, making it 32 in all, which equals the record they set last season.

Argentine forward Sergio Aguero scored the equaliser inside 83 seconds and Aymeric Laporte arrived unmarked on the end of a corner to put City ahead before half-time.

Brighton had no way back and Mancity City completed the clash in spectacular style as Riyad Mahrez fired high past Mat Ryan just after the hour and Ilkay Gundogan’s spectacular 72nd minute free-kick sparked wild celebrations.

City may not have repeated the 100 points that won the title last season but this was arguably an even sweeter success given the season-long battle with Liverpool.

Guardiola’s side will now aim to complete a unique domestic treble when they face Watford in the FA Cup final at Wembley.

By Olukayode Oniwinde

Read also: Kompany’s Goal Lifts Manchester City Past Leicester City

Share This Post!