A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

By Damilola Faustino

Oprah Winfrey has been announced as the next recipient of the prestigious Cecil B DeMille award.

oprah winfrey

The Cecil B. DeMille Award is an honorary Golden Globe Award bestowed by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association for outstanding contributions to the world of entertainment.

Meher Tatna, the head of Golden Globe said: “For generations, Oprah has celebrated strong female characters on and off screen, and has been a role model for women and young girls for decades.”

Continuing, Tatna described Oprah as a “global media leader, philanthropist, producer and actress”, adding: “She has created an unparalleled connection with people around the world, making her one of the most respected and admired figures today.”

Previous DeMille award winners include last year’s recipient, Meryl Streep, along with Audrey Hepburn, Barbra Streisand, Denzel Washington, George Clooney, Harrison Ford, Sidney Poitier and Martin Scorsese.

Oprah’s honour was announced by actor Morgan Freeman – who won the same prize in 2012. She will receive her award at January’s Golden Globes awards.

Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!