A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

By Chineze Ogugua

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has released his final 23-man list to represent the country at the World Cup. This was announced by the Nigeria Football Federation yesterday afternoon while their jersey numbers were announced this morning.

super eagles

Ola Aina and Mikel Agu were dropped from the list of 25 even though they weren’t truly tested. The 23-man list consisted of three goalkeepers, four defenders, six midfielders and six attackers.

Odion Ighalo will lead the Super Eagles attack in Russia as he was handed the number nine shirt while John Obi Mikel who will captain the team, will take the no 10 shirt.

Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi will wear the no 4 jersey, previously worn by Nigeria greats Stephen Keshi (1994) and Nwankwo Kanu (1998, 2002 and 2010) at the World Cups.

Here is the full list according to their squad numbers:

1) Ikechukwu Ezenwa

2) Brian Idowu

3) Elderson Echiejile

4) Wilfred Ndidi

5) William Troost-Ekong

6) Leon Balogun

7) Ahmed Musa

8) Oghenekaro Etebo

9) Odion Ighalo

10) Obi Mikel

11) Victor Moses

12) Abdullahi Shehu

13) Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo

14) Kelechi Iheanacho

15) Joel Obi

16) Daniel Akpeyi

17) Eddy Onazi

18) Alex Iwobi

19) John Ogu

20) Chidozie Awaziem

21) Tyronne Ebuehi

22) Kenneth Omeruo

23) Francis Uzoho

Nigeria will kick start their participation at the World Cup against Croatia on the 16th of June.


Read also: Check Out Our Stars In Nike’s Super Eagles World Cup Jersey

Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!