A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

It is reported that after so much disagreements, deliberation and meetings the senate has confirmed the president’s nominees with respect to three major public institutions in the country namely, the Supreme Court (SC), the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

As regards the Supreme Court; following the reports of the Committee set up by the Senate – the ‘Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters’ which was led by senator David Umaru,  the senate on Thursday confirmed the nominations of Sidi Bage and Paul Galinge as justices of the Supreme Court.

With respect to INEC, six nominees of president Buhari for the positions of National Commissioners of the country’s electoral body, have been confirmed by the senate. The nominees are Okechukwu Ibeanu for Anambra State, May Agbamuche-Mbu for Delta State, Ahmed Muazu for Gombe State, Mohammed Haruna for Niger State, Adekunle Ogunmola for Oyo state and Abubakar Nahuche for Zamfara state.

For NCC, five nominees of the president out of seven were confirmed by the senate. The senate confirmed Mr. Olabiyi Durojaiye as Chairman of the Commission. It is reported that the above nominee is quiet elderly but the senate unanimously confirmed him as having the requisite background and knowledge to man the position not withstanding his age.

Other confirmed nominees are Mr. Sunday Dare as the Executive Commissioner (Stakeholder Management), Ifeanyi Ararume – Imo State, Clement Obaiye – Kogi State and Okoi Obono-Obla – Cross River state as non-executive commissioners.

The names that were unconfirmed are Aliyu Abubakar – Bauchi state and Ezekiel Yissa – Kwara State.

Written by Okolo Ezinne

Share This Post!