A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Kevin De Bruyne, Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer have been shortlisted for the UEFA men’s Player of the Year award, this is the first time in ten years the nomination wouldn’t consist of Ronaldo or Messi. ur-1600860801027.jpeg

Lewandoski finished as the top scorer with 15 goals to his name in the UEFA Champions league, while also topping the assists charts, as Bayern lifted the coveted trophy. As a result of this, and his contribution of 55 goals in 47 games in all competitions helping Bayern win the treble, the Polish striker is poised as the possible winner of the award.

Manuel Neuer on the other hand was also part of Bayern’s treble-winning squad, keeping six clean sheets in the Champions League and he missed just one game the entire season. It is highly unlikely he wins the award over Lewandoski, but he has a shout.

City midfielder De Bruyne provided a record-equalling 20 assists in the Premier League last season, the highest in Europe’s top five leagues, with such an individual performance too good to be ignored in the running for the award.

Bayern’s Hans-Dieter Flick, Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp and RB Leipzig’s Julian Nagelsmann were nominated for the Men’s Coach of the Year award, while Barcelona’s Lluis Cortes, Wolfsburg’s Stephan Lerch and Lyon’s Jean-Luc Vasseur made the shortlist for the women’s award. This would also be the first time the managerial awards would be presented in the competition’s history.

UEFA also announced the final nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year award, with Manchester City full back Lucy Bronze, Chelsea striker Pernille Harder and Olympique Lyonnais defender Wendie Renard being nominated for the award.

The awards will be presented at the 2020-21 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony on October 1.


By: Muyiwa aguda 

see also: Turkey to Host UEFA Champions League Final in August

Share This Post!