A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

By Chineze Ogugua

The United States female team won their first Fed Cup title in 17 years since the quartet of Lisa Raymond, Lindsay Davenport, Monica Seles and Jennifer Capriati did it in 2000, with a dramatic victory over Belarus who were appearing in their first ever final in Minsk.

US Women Team

Coco Vandeweghe and Shelby Rogers beat Aryna Sabalenka and Aliaksandra Sasnovich 6-3 7-6 (7-3) in the deciding doubles rubber to give the visitors a 3-2 win in the best-of-five tie.

Sasnovich had earlier beaten US Open champion Sloane Stephens 4-6 6-1 8-6 in a thrilling match to force a decider.

Vandeweghe, the world number 10, put the US into a 2-1 lead with a 7-6 (7-5) 6-1 win over Sabalenka, ranked 78th, in Sunday’s opening singles rubber.

They have now won the Fed Cup 18 times, extending their lead over the Czech Republic/Czechoslovakia, who have 10 titles.

Comments are visible after approval

Share This Post!