A password will be e-mailed to you.

Share This Post!

Virgil Van Dijk has beat Raheem Sterling to the award of PFA Players’ Player of the Year and will be thus crowned on Thursday, April 25.

Virgil Van Dijk

The £75million defender was on a six-man shortlist including Sterling, his Anfield teammate Sadio Mane, Chelsea’s Eden Hazard and two more City players, Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva.

The Liverpool centre-half, who has played a key role in the Reds’ title challenge, has beaten Manchester City’s England star to the prize, after impressing his peers during an immaculate campaign.

Van Dijk has played a huge part in shoring up the Reds’ defence in his first full season at Anfield.

The Holland international has proven himself a centre-back maintain, with the likes of Joe Gomes and Joel Matip rotating to line up alongside him.

Liverpool have lost just one game this season with the Dutchman at the back, and have conceded the least amount of goals in the league – 20.

Van Dijk revealed earlier in the week that he had voted for his closest competition to win the award, Citizens’ forward Sterling.

Sterling however didn’t return the favour and instead voted for his England international team-mate Harry Kane.

Congratulations Van Dijk!

By Oluwatoyin Adeleye

Read also: Liverpool Agrees Terms To Sign Van Dijk For Record Deal

Share This Post!